I still can’t use my laptop as a portable cinema.

Dell Inspiron E1405In a previous post I blathered about not being able to watch a dvd on my Dell laptop. It really sucked (the problem, not my post) but I think some people were helped as a result. It turns out, there were a lot of other folk who couldn’t watch movies, either. So many people, in fact, that I made it to the WordPress.com Growing Blogs page. I digress.

The patch finally arrived. (Thank you, Ramon.) I installed it and the ridiculous error message went away. But the playback is still jittery. What’s a guy gotta do to use the merchandise he bought fair and square?

Does anyone, anywhere have any freakin’ idea?

4 responses to “I still can’t use my laptop as a portable cinema.

  1. I hadthe same problem! After I red your first subject, I installed the Patch 3.x.
    Before I installing patch 3, I install Direct X from microsoft website.
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=2DA43D38-DB71-4C1B-BC6A-9B6652CD92A3&displayLang=en

    Installing patch 3 made the player able to playback the DVD. However, the sound/voice is still jittery!
    I was asking myself about the extra step that I made if it was not that smart. (DirectX ) could be the cause of the sound problem ??

  2. do the following to solve the proble:

    1. go to this link and download the program. Do not do the fifith step (Do not restart the computer)
    http://support.dell.com/support/downloads/download.aspx?c=us&l=en&s=gen&releaseid=R53986&formatcnt=1&libid=0&fileid=63977
    2. go tho this link and download the PowerDVD trail
    http://www.download.com/CyberLink-PowerDVD/3000-2139_4-10352449.html
    3. Restart your computer

    I asked dell support about what will happen when the trail period ends, they said it does not matter we are taking the codes only !!!!!!!

    Good luck

  3. Actually, I tried that. It solved the “bad codec” problem but the playback was still unwatchable (jumpy).

    I ended up doing a system restore. It did the trick but then I had to start from scratch.

  4. Ok. My problem originally started with an error message from Windows Media Player 11 saying “Windows Media Player cannot play this DVD because there is a problem with digital copy protection between your DVD drive, decoder, and video card. Try installing an updated driver for your video card.” I then went through the options it told me to do when I clicked “Web Help”. That did nothing. I then ran Windows Update. Nothing about DVD anything. That told me to run the DVD troubleshooter in the Help and Support Center. That did nothing. I then searched the error message I originally got in Google and found a forum that told me to download said driver update from above (http://forums.us.dell.com/supportforums/board/message?board.id=sw_other&message.id=55370). That gave me this error message- “This Update is not designed for the application version you currently have installed.” I am using Windows Media Player 11 on a Dell Lattitude D620 with a DVD burner/player. The DVDs play fine in PowerDVD, but I would much rather play them in WMP. HELP!