You, too, can make really cool gadgets!

Zippo closed My first steps into the blogosphere took me deep into the land of Make: magazine. There I discovered the joy of “re-purposing” ordinary items. People were creating alternate power sources for their iPods, making homebrew AC units, and turning off television sets everywhere they went. The creative atmosphere was intoxicating.

My favorite projects involved USB drives. People were putting them into Lego bricks, Matchbox cars, and Altoids tins. I found a good deal on a 512MB SanDisk Cruzer Micro at Staples and was promptly caught up in the maker frenzy.

So, I pulled out my Dremel tool and went to work. A few hours later I had my very own modified USB drive. I hope you like it.

By the way, my design still “clicks” like a real Zippo ought to.

One response to “You, too, can make really cool gadgets!

  1. a PEZ dispenser would be interesting.