I’m not happy right now.

One of my favorite sites is reporting the following:

Firefox 2.0.0.5 was released yesterday. Nothing terribly exciting to report (unless security fixes excite you), but you can count on seeing an auto-update pop-up in the next day or so if you haven’t already. Otherwise you can just get it here. – (Striving Toward Perfection – Lifehacker)

Ordinarily, this would be great news. That is not the case today.

You see, when I updated, I got a message saying Java was not working with the new version. I figured I’d just be able to update Java when it became necessary. Whatever.

To make matters worse, none of my extensions or themes work any longer. It’s true. Not a one. I’m completely confounded. Ordinarily, I can dig around and find the answer on the net. But this time I haven’t found anything. When I look at the extensions in the Tools-> Add-ons menu they all say:

This add-on will be installed when Firefox is restarted.

or

This add-on will be upgraded when Firefox is restarted.

I’ve restarted to no avail. I tried reinstalling. I tried uninstalling, then reinstalling. Nothing.

Is anyone else having the same problem? Has anybody got an answer?

Update 7/21/07

I uninstalled Firefox, moved the remaining Mozilla folders to a different directory, and reinstalled 2.0.0.5. That did the trick. I’ve been reinstalling my extensions one at a time as I need them. And I imported my old bookmarks from my old files. It’s been annoying but I’m willing to pay the price for a superior web experience.

Update 8/1/07

If some others out there are having similar problems, be sure to check out the comments for a great tip from Stephan.

8 responses to “I’m not happy right now.

  1. Hello,

    I have had the same issue but I found a trick: just remove this file: C:\Documents and Settings\{username}\Application Data\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\{profile_salt}\extensions.cache

    And restart. It works perfect for me!!!!

    A bit late I know ;)

    Rgds,

    Stephan

  2. Stephan,
    Where were you last week?

    Thanks for the tip. I’ve been waiting to update FF at work because I didn’t want to encounter the same thing. Now I know how to fix this problem if it happens there, too.

  3. Not too late for me with the 2.0.0.7 upgrade! The same thing happened to me just now. This was the first link in google, and Stephan’s solution worked perfectly.

    Thanks to you both :)

  4. @Greg:

    I’m so glad! It was pretty frustrating for me for a while. Hopefully others will benefit from this post as they upgrade to the newest versions of Firefox.

  5. Just had this happen to me on the 2.0.0.8 upgrade, and I only have a few add-ons. Never had this problem before in any of the incremental updates, but this worked perfectly and the cache file rebuilt properly. I even checked and there were no updates for any of mine, so that eliminates the problem I was expecting of a problem applying one of the updates.

  6. @Marshall:

    I’m glad this worked for you!

    It’s odd that it only happens sometimes. It didn’t happen on this latest upgrade for me. Weird.

  7. Anyone know where this file can be found in Vista?

  8. Pingback: Firefox extension problems « Technology in the Hospitality Industry